

Award	Brian Vincent UK Australia Exchange Bursary	
Award Type	Award	
Audience	Early Career	
Nomination/application deadline	10 September 2018	
Number of nominations/ applications	2	
Award winner(s) and institution(s)	Dr Alison Savage, University of Liverpool	
Comments	Dr Savage was awarded the inaugural exchange bursary and attended the Australian Colloid and Interface Symposium in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia in February 2019. The JCG welcomed Dr Long Yu from the University of Queensland (now at the University of Adelaide) to their inaugural early career colloids meeting in Sheffield. He Assemblies of Densely Branched Hydrocolloids from Joint Colloids Group Newsletter: https://shoutout.wix.com/so/d5MOI9Nj2#/main.	



Other information/comments:

In 2018, the JCG formalised its eligibility criteria for the McBain Medal, the Thomas Graham Lecture and Rideal Award and Lecture.

- Candidates for the McBain Medal must have made a significant contribution to colloid and interface science within 15 years after completion of postgraduate study. Candidates will either be based in the UK or will at least have carried out a substantial part of their research work in the UK. The McBain Medal is awarded annually. Nominations are due by 15 November each year.
- Candidates for the Thomas Graham Lecture must have made significant and sustained contributions to colloid, surface and interface science made while working in the UK and must have completed postgraduate study between 15 and 30 years prior to the time of the nomination. The Thomas Graham Lecture is awarded every two years. The next call for nominations closes on 1 March 2020. The committee hope that the 2020 awardee will give a plenary lecture at UK Colloids 2020.
- Candidates for the Rideal Award and Lecture must be an authority in colloid, surface

completion of postgraduate study. Candidates need not be UK-based necessarily, but they will have had sustained and significant connections with the UK colloid, interface and surface science community and a marked impact upon work in the UK. The Rideal Award and Lecture is bestowed annually. Nominations for the award close on 1 March each year.

Members currently serving on the Joint Colloids Group committee are not eligible for any awards.

The JCG expected to award the Brian Vincent UK-Australia exchange bursary again in 2019. The application date is still to be confirmed.

Other forms of recognition provided by your committee

The JCG are planning to inaugurate a doctoral thesis prize, modelled on that awarded by Macro Group UK.



Future Activities

Event Name2019 Rideal award symposium



Event Name ECCo 2019



Committee

		Dates on committee
Position	Name	(20xx 20xx)
Chair	Dr Jeroen van Duijneveldt	2017 2021
Secretary	Dr Christopher Blanford	2016 2019
Treasurer	Prof. Alex Routh	2014 2020
Ordinary Members	Dr Lee Fielding Prof. Wim Thielemans Dr Shirin Alexander Dr Gemma-Louise Davies Dr Sarah Rogers	2017 2021 2013 2019 2017 2021 2017 2021 2017 2020
Community Fund Representative	N/A	
Co-opted member	Dr Dionisia Maria de Jesus	2017 2019